With all the visuals going into Warner Bros. Man of Steel you would almost forget that it’s filled with very talented actors. One actor in particular, leading man Henry Cavill, has been receiving a sea of praise as the new Superman, but did you know he almost missed his chance thanks to World of Warcraft?

Read on after the jump.

Honestly, Cavill is one of the last people you would expect to be a gamer. His fine, chiseled features are far from what many of us would associate with the “casual gamer”, but in the upcoming issue of British GQ he reveals his love of single player games as well the record-breaking MMORPG. It’s easy to see why though. With nearly ten million players, the Blizzard Entertainment franchise is played by several celebrities, despite its history of costing people their very lives and relationships. Even the new man of steel nearly fell to the game’s dangerous charms.

According to Cavill, who at the time was in the middle of another round of computer based activities, he received a call from Man of Steel director Zack Snyder. At the time Henry didn’t know it, but on the other side of that line was the offer of playing Superman. In Henry’s mind though:

“I saw it was him [calling] but the thing is, you can’t save World of Warcraft, you can’t pause it. It’s live.”

Cavill has proven his nerd cred with a tale like this, putting the game before his career and could you safely say you wouldn’t do the same thing? If you said “no” to that question, then you might be left with only the upcoming Man of Steel film score to keep you company in your shame.

If you audiophiles have been waiting for the Hans Zimmer produced score, your time is now. The kind folks over at Amazon have begun taking pre-orders of the 18 song soundtrack to be released three days ahead of the movie on June 11th. The teaser and theatrical trailers have shown some of what you can expect to hear on the album, but if you’re impatient everything is being sampled over on Amazon. We, on the other hand, will save you the trip with this collective sample via Youtube.

As for the official track listing, that has been making its way through the Internet for the last few days and each title does contain minor spoilers to the film.  If you’re ok with being a bit spoiled before the experience of seeing everything on screen, then by all means read on.

  1. Look To The Stars
  2. Oil Rig
  3. Sent Here For A Reason
  4. DNA
  5. Goodbye My Son
  6. If You Love These People
  7. Krypton’s Last
  8. Terraforming
  9. Tornado
  10. You Die Or I Do
  11. Launch
  12. Ignition
  13. I Will Find Him
  14. This Is Clark Kent
  15. I Have So Many Questions
  16. Flight
  17. What Are You Going To Do When You Are Not Saving The World?
  18. Man of Steel (Hans’ Original Sketchbook)

Sources: Comic Book Movie, /Film

Category: Comics, Film

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,