dc-post-new-52The New 52 is dead. Long live the New 52 (sorta)!

Earlier today, DC Comics announced that following this spring’s Convergence event their entire line-up will be overhauled and a bold new direction for the comic company will begin, one focused on diversity, accessibility, and every other buzzword comic book companies use to describe major shake-ups such as this.

Still, when you look into the details it seems that DC might have some method to this madness. Fresh talent working with long time veterans. Bestselling fan-favorite series will be joined by a very interesting (and surprising) list of new titles.

So what exactly is happening with the DCU? First and foremost, the ‘New 52’ branding will be dropped and the number of titles published monthly dips from 52 down to 49 with 25 current books continuing and the remaining titles 24 being all new and, like I said, surprising in some cases.

The Eisner-winning Gene Luen Yang will replace Geoff Johns on Superman. Garth Ennis and John McCrea come back to the DC fold for the Hitman based limited series called Section 8. The Harley Quinn team of Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti will add a Starfire solo series and a team-up book featuring Harley Quinn and Power Girl. Fan favorite artist from The Authority and The Ultimates, Bryan Hitchwill also make a return to DC to write and draw an all new Justice League of America monthly.

Other new books include a Black Canary solo by Batgirl co-writer Brenden Fletcher as well as Cyborg (cool,) Bizarro (okay,) Bat-Mite (huh?) and Prez (you can’t be serious…) Those last 3 are part of what Co-Publisher Jim Lee says will be “offbeat, irreverently funny titles,” and for those of you who remember Prez… offbeat doesn’t even begin to explain it.

As a life long comic reader, it’s this next bit that intrigues me the most. In the press release DC Entertainment’s other Co-Publisher, Dan DiDio, revealed that “in this new era of storytelling, story will trump continuity as we continue to empower creators to tell the best stories in the industry.” So the chains of continuity will be cast off and creators will be free to create without the confines of editorial demands that the company wide status quo be preserved? Maybe, but I think it is a safe bet that some degree of universe wide continuity will continue. Hypertime will be preserved, the multiverse will expand and/or collapse, and various crises will continue unabated.

It is clear with a quick look at the titles that DC’s commitment to diversity and a stronger presence for female characters is major part of this initiative. Add in Midnighter receiving his own solo series by Steve Orlando and ACO as well the return of long missing books like Omega Men and completely new ideas like We Are Robin it is clear that this is a very ambitious move from DC that will hopefully have a positive impact on this industry as a whole.

Fans will get their first taste of this new era for DC Comics this may with the Free Comic Book Day issue, DC Comics: Divergence, available Saturday, May 2nd. Right now you can check out the full list of titles and creative teams as well as some preview art below.

New/Rebranded Series:

Batman Beyond — W: Dan Jurgens, A: Bernard Chang
Bat-Mite (6-issue limited) — W: Dan Jurgens, A: Corin Howell
Bizarro (6-issue limited) — W: Heath Corson, A: Gustavo Duarte
Black Canary — W: Brenden Fletcher, A: Annie Wu & Irene Koh
Constantine: The Hellblazer — W: Ming Doyle, A: Riley Rossmo
Cyborg — W: David Walker, A: Ivan Reis
Dark Universe — W: James Tynion IV, A: Ming Doyle
Green Lantern: Lost Army — W: Cullen Bunn, A: Jesus Saiz & Javi Pina
Doomed — W: Scott Lobdell, A: Javier Fernandez
Earth 2: Society — W: Daniel Wilson, A: Jorge Jimenez
Dr. Fate — W: Paul Levitz, A: Sonny Liew
Harley Quinn/Power Girl (6-issue limited) — W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Stephane Roux
Justice League of America — W: Bryan Hitch, A: Bryan Hitch
Justice League 3001 — W: Keith Giffen, A: Howard Porter
Martian Manhunter — W: Rob Williams, A: Ben Oliver
Midnighter — W: Steve Orlando, A: ACO
Mystic U — W: Alisa Kwitney, A: Stay tuned for artist info!
Omega Men — W: Tom King, A: Alec Morgan
Prez — W: Mark Russell, A: Ben Caldwell
Red Hood/Arsenal — W: Scott Lobdell, A: Denis Medri
Robin, Son of Batman — W: Patrick Gleason, A: Patrick Gleason
Section Eight (6-issue limited) — W: Garth Ennis, A: John McCrea
Starfire — W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Emanuela Lupacchino
We Are Robin — W: Lee Bermejo, A: Khary Randolph

Ongoing Titles:

Action Comics — W: Greg Pak, A: Aaron Kuder
Aquaman — W: Cullen Bunn, A: Trevor McCarthy
Batgirl — W: Cameron Stewart & Brenden Fletcher, A: Babs Tarr
Batman — W: Scott Snyder, A: Greg Capullo
Detective Comics — W; Brian Buccelato & Francis Manapul, A: Francis Manapul
Batman/Superman — W: Greg Pak, A: Ardian Syaf
Catwoman — W: Genevieve Valentine, A: David Messina
Deathstroke — W: Tony S. Daniel, A: Tony S. Daniel
The Flash — W: Robert Venditti & Van Jensen, A: Brett Booth
Gotham Academy — W: Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher, A: Karl Kerschl
Gotham By Midnight — W: Ray Fawkes, A: Juan Ferreyra
Grayson — W: Tom King & Tim Seeley, A: Mikel Janin
Green Arrow — W: Ben Percy, A: Patrick Zircher
Green Lantern — W: Robert Venditti, A: Billy Tan
Harley Quinn — W: Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner, A: Chad Hardin
Justice League — W: Geoff Johns, A: Jason Fabok
Justice League United — W:Stay tuned for creative team info!, A:
Lobo — W: Cullen Bunn, A: Cliff Richards
Secret Six — W: Gail Simone, A: Dale Eaglesham
Sinestro — W: Cullen Bunn, A: Bradley Walker
New Suicide Squad — W: Sean Ryan, A: Carlos D’Anda
Superman — W: Gene Luen Yang, A: John Romita, Jr.
Superman/Wonder Woman — W: Peter J. Tomasi, A: Doug Mahnke
Teen Titans — W: Will Pfeifer, A: Kenneth Rocafort
Wonder Woman — W: Meredith Finch, A: David Finch


Via: DC Comics

Category: Comics

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,