Straight from the D23 Expo in Anaheim, California, the official roster and first cast photo of Rogue One has been released by Lucasfilm!

Members of the cast include Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Alan Tudyk, Mads Mikkelsen, Forest Whitaker, and Riz Ahmed. Kathleen Kennedy took the opportunity to explain a few things about the particulars of the film:

Rogue One takes place before the events of Star Wars: A New Hope and will be a departure from the saga films but have elements that are familiar to the Star Wars universe,”

“It goes into new territory, exploring the galactic struggle from a ground-war perspective while maintaining that essential Star Wars feel that fans have come to know. Gareth is such an innovative director and I’m so excited to be working with him and the extraordinary ensemble cast he’s selected for Rogue One.”

The idea for the movie was originated by ILM visual effects supervisor John Knoll; who has been working with the Star Wars movies since the mid 1990’s. Executive producers are set with Allison Shearmur, John Knoll, Simon Emanuel and Jason McGatlin, and co-producing will be done by Kiri Hart and John Swartz.

Edwards enlisted Greig Fraser as director of photography, and Neil Corbould as special effects supervisor- key decisions in nailing the realistic, homely feel of Rogue One. Doug Chiang (Star Wars and Lucasfilm vet) and Neil Lamont are on board as production designers, and additional crew members include Rob Inch (stunt coordinator), Neal Scanlan (creature effects supervisor), and Dave Crossman and Glyn Dillon (co-costume designers).

Rogue One is set to hit theaters December 16, 2016.

Source: ComicBook

Category: Film

Tags: , , ,